Plan Ahead

What are the Five Ss?

Leave a comment

5S was developed in Japan and stands for the Japanese words
1. Seiri (tidiness),
2. Seiton (orderliness),
3. Seiso (cleanliness),
4. Sseiketsu (standardization), and
5. Shitsuke (discipline).
These words have been adopted to English to maintain the “5S.”
5S Seiri; Sort, Clearing, Classify
5S Seiton; Straighten, Simplify, Set in order, Configure
5S Seiso; Sweep, shine, Scrub, Clean and Check
5S Seiketsu; Standardize, stabilize, Conformity
5S Shitsuke; Sustain, self discipline, custom and practice
The 5 Steps are as follows:
1. Sort: Sort out & separate that which is needed & not needed in the area.
2. Straighten: Arrange items that are needed so that they are ready & easy to use. Clearly identify locations for all items so that anyone can find them & return them once the task is completed.
3. Shine: Clean the workplace & equipment on a regular basis in order to maintain standards & identify defects.
4. Standardize: Revisit the first three of the 5S on a frequent basis and confirm the condition of the Workplace using standard procedures.
5. Sustain: Keep to the rules to maintain the standard & continue to improve every day.
In Summary 5S  becomes a fundamental business measure & key driver for Kaizen, it forms the solid foundation upon which to build continuous improvement and all employees gain a sense of ownership, involvement & responsibility it also reduce waste and Improved performance in productivity, quality & morale leads to increased profitability and most of all it Improved safety and security in the workplace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *